As a leader in the Okanagan sport community, PacificSport Okanagan and the City of Kelowna invite you to be our guest at the 2019 Community Sport Hero Awards Reception. At the reception, we will recognize and honour local volunteers, athletes and service providers for their outstanding contributions to sport in our community. Reception details are as follows:

Date: February 6, 2019
Location: Rotary Centre for the Arts (Mary Irwin Theatre)
Welcome Reception: 6:00 - 6:30 pm
Awards: 6:30 - 8:30 pm

  • Business Casual
  • Appetizers & Drinks Provided

Along with the recognition of this year’s winners, the Reception will take some time to recognize and send-off Okanagan athletes headed to 2019 Canada Winter Games in Red Deer, AB, and to take a look back at the Okanagan athletes who competed at the 2018 Olympic & Paralympic Games in PyeongChang. Once again, this year’s reception will feature a keynote address from Community Sport Hero Allison McNeill, former Head Coach, Canadian National Women’s Basketball Team.

This is also your time to nominate that special volunteer (coach, manager, administrator, official, etc.) and/or athlete achiever whose talent and dedication have "caught your eye" or helped make your sport experience extraordinary.


Volunteer Sport Hero Award - Awarded to an individual who has contributed significantly to Kelowna through their voluntary service to amateur sport.

Athletic Excellence Award - Awarded to an Okanagan-based athlete who has demonstrated outstanding athletic achievement in 2018.

Deadline for nominations is Friday, December 21, 2018

To review the list of Past Award Winners, click here.

To attend the 2019 Community Sport Hero Awards Reception, RSVP by February 1.  Event is FREE to attend!

*Please Note:  all City of Kelowna based nominees will automatically be considered for the 2019 City of Kelowna Civic & Community Awards in April 2019.

For more information about the 2019 Community Sport Hero Awards, please call PacificSport Okanagan at (250) 469-8852 or email